Jaskane Concert at The Courthouse

Jaskane poster cover

Jaskane Album Launch and Tour July 2017

  Courthouse Gallery Ennistymon  28th July 8pm

Admission €5

Chamber-folk trio Jaskane play at The Courthouse Gallery on Friday 29th July (8pm) as part of their short tour to launch their second album, Lumnen.

Lumen features an eclectic mix of instrumental tunes combining the distinctive performance styles of Etain McCooey (oboe, cor anglais), Karen Kelly (violin) and Jason Noone (guitars). This album was recorded at Grouse Lodge Studios in Westmeath, where R.E.M., Snow Patrol, Michael Jackson and many others have previously worked.

Listeners familiar with Jaskane’s live performances, or first album may be interested to hear the bigger sound and denser arrangements made possible by producer Alex Borwick (The Young Folk, Irish Memory Orchestra). The diverse selection of tunes covers Breton and Irish folk, cinematic themes, Latin tangoes and klezmer music. This album also contains Jaskane original compositions, the title track, Lumen and Il Doctore, inspired by the world music styles that make up the band’s repertoire. These tracks were released online as a single in March 2017 and are available on iTunes, 7Digital and Spotify.

Jaskane will be visiting some of their favourite venues around Clare to share the new material as well as yet-unheard compositions in July. This tour kicks off on 21st of July at Peckish Vegan café, Ennis, followed by dates in Ennistymon, Kilkee, Killaloe and the Galway  Fringe Festival. The group’s lively performances promise to be an evocative and refreshing experience for the audience. CDs will be available for purchase. For more details, follow Jaskane’s Facebook updates (@JaskaneTrio).

The live dates are as follows:

21st July – Peckish Vegan Café 8pm

26th July – The Quays Galway 9pm (Galway Fringe)

28th July – Courthouse Gallery Ennistymon  8pm

29th July – Quay Arts Centre Killaloe 8pm (Earthly Rhythms Exhibition)

30th July – Cultúrlann Sweeney, Kilkee 8pm


Photo Credits:               Album photo – Anthony Madigan
Band Photo – Aisling Freeney